Rates & additional benefits
Basic FIBC is 35%, or 40% for productions whose principal photography starts on or after 2025-01-01. Other stated rates are: Regional 12.5%; Distant Location Regional 6%; Digital Animation, Visual Effects and Post-Production (DAVE) 16%; Film Training 30% of trainee payments or 3% of qualifying BC labour expenditure, whichever is less; Scriptwriting 35%. For animation, the regional and distant credits apply to productions with key animation starting after 2024-12-31 subject to the physical-office and 50%-presence requirements.
Production type & commercial eligibility
Commercials not confirmed. Additional commercial conditions are not stated in the source-cited record.
Qualifying expenditure
The credit is calculated by multiplying qualified BC labour expenditure by the applicable rate. The program is for domestic productions with qualifying levels of Canadian content. The official material reviewed does not state a further qualified-labour expenditure cap or an explicit commercial/advertising rule.
Labor & residency
FIBC is available to Canadian-owned and controlled production corporations with a permanent establishment in British Columbia and is based on eligible BC labour costs. For the restored animation regional/distant credits, the company must have a physical office in the relevant location and claimed workers must be physically present and working there at least 50% of the time. The official material reviewed does not state ATL/BTL treatment, a general compensation cap, or loan-out/withholding rules.
Application timing
The applicant corporation must obtain eligibility and completion certificates through Creative BC. The eligibility-certificate application is strongly recommended as early as pre-production/production and no later than 12 months from the end of the tax year in which principal photography began. The completion certificate must be applied for and received within 30 months after the end of the tax year in which principal photography (or key animation) began; if the production was completed in that same tax year, the stated deadline is 18 months after that year-end. The T1196 and required certificate are filed with the T2 return; the BC tax page states that Budget 2026 extended the filing deadline to 36 months after tax-year end for tax years ending on or after 2024-08-17.
Caps & funding conditions
Not stated in the cited sources. Confirm this requirement with the administering agency.
Audit requirements
A separate T1196 and certificate is required for each production and must be filed with the CRA by the applicable deadline. Creative BC/ the Certifying Authority may request additional documentation; false or misleading information results in denial and may lead to prosecution. The BC tax page states there are no carry-back or carry-forward provisions. No CPA-audit or screen-credit requirement is stated.
Receiving the incentive
The credit first reduces tax payable and any remaining balance is paid to the corporation. The official material states no carry-back or carry-forward provisions; transferability, buy-back terms and haircuts are not stated.
Program dates
- Effective date
- Not stated
- Program end date
- Not stated
A program end date is not necessarily an application deadline.